eID news

European Commission’s EU digital identity wallet pilot program proposed by six countries

single image

A NEW multi-country consortium of Europe’s most trusted identity experts announced on Wednesday, September 14 its proposal to deliver a large-scale, cross-border payments pilot strongly aligned with the aims of the European Commission’s EU digital identity wallet program.
Led by NOBID (Nordic-Baltic eID Project), the six countries part of the consortium linked with the European Commission’s EU digital identity wallet program are; Denmark, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Latvia and Norway.

The consortium’s proposal will bring to life the most widely used of the European Union’s priority use cases for wallet – payments.

According to NOBID, all the countries in the consortium have well-established digital infrastructures and under its leadership and following its successful harmonisation of several national eID programs comprising tens of millions of European citizens, the group will “collaborate to show how payments and ID can be combined effortlessly, across borders and in multiple currencies.”

You can read the full article here.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may like